Inkwell and Paper

A Dream Come True

Slide1

Finally, everyone was here. I didn’t know if they’d make it. Each one of us held a member who couldn’t attend.

My cousin, held our great-grandmother’s picture in her hand. I was holding my parents’ pictures. They didn’t ever get a chance to vote for the first African American president. I am here to represent for them.

I live the dream.

Tears cascaded down my face on this cold day. I stood on the steps and listened.

“Thank God.”

This might not be my best story, but it came to me after watching President Obama’s Inauguration for the second time. This time is even sweeter for me, because I got to vote for the first time ever this past November.  

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

