Inkwell and Paper

Leaving Due to Business

Slide1

“Don’t you dare go through that door,” Kelly said.

The intensity of her words made Paul stop walking. “If you leave now, I won’t be here when you return.”

Paul opened the door. As soon an one foot touched outside, Kelly said “You can’t keep running from adversity. Now is the time to put your big draws on and take care of business.”

Never looking back, Paul finally spoke. “Getting away from you is taking care of business.”

Slam!

I haven’t written a 79-word story since the beginning of the month. This morning when I woke up these characters were sitting in my mind. I could see snow on the ground where they were. I never did see Paul’s face, but I guess it’s because he was finally seeking his own happiness. We all need and want to be happy.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

