Inkwell and Paper

D is for Don’t Know What You Got by Cinderella

A-Z Banner

I never heard of this song before. Listened to it and got nothing, but the title made me remember something from my childhood. Here’s the 79-word story that is based off that event. It was a little over my word count.

 

Dried on pink stuff covered Dot’s face. She sat on her front steps watching as the other neighborhood kids played.

I knew how she felt; that I had been me a week ago.

“Hey,” I said, “I’ll play with you. I had that last week.”

“Don’t April!” That was my older brother shouting. “You didn’t have chicken pox.”

“Yes, I did!”

I sat next to her.

“I don’t know what you got, but I’m your friend.”

A week later my itching began. I guess he was right.

8 Comments»

  Alex Hurst wrote @

Hahah…. I get terrified every time I see a kid come into my school with chickenpox, because apparently I never got it as a kid and it can become shingles as an adult. 😛 Nice flash!

Alex Hurst, fantasy author in Japan, participating in Blogging A-Z April Challenge.

  bizarrejc wrote @

I had it bad, but not as bad as the adult who caught it from me. She had it everywhere and was so sick. I feel so bad today, but back then man all I wanted to do was scratch and be left alone. For the record, I had measles the week before.

  http://juliamatthewsauthor.blogspot.com/ wrote @

That was sweet. Since I had them twice as a child, I can relate to how the little girl felt, and how much such an act would truly mean at a later point in her life.

  Stepheny Houghtlin wrote @

Visiting you on the the 4th day of the #challenge. Looking for fellow writers and here you are. Hope you make lots of new blogging friends this month. If you have time or interest, I’m writing about gardening and related things this month. Come and see me. Have fun.

  bizarrejc wrote @

Thanks for visiting. I’m not a gardener but I have a garden. I will check you out.

  Makasha Dorsey wrote @

As soon as I read the first sentence, I thought “somebody’s got chicken pox.” I remember my bout with it. Let me tell you if I didn’t look like the fly, Mississippi has never had mud. Great story.

  Nancy Mock wrote @

This is a really unique theme, and I like the song choice paired with this chicken-pox story!

Nancy at Hungry Enough To Eat Six
2014 A to Z Challenge Participant

  bizarrejc wrote @

Thank you! I’m having fun playing with these songs.


Leave a Reply

